Interspace

noun: a space between things

School is finally starting next week!! I feel nervous for JC but at the same time I’ve been extraordinarily sluggish at home so maybe school starting will motivate me to get back into work mode. Right now I’m just stuck between holidays and school, relaxing and work, and it’s quite frustrating to not be able to have more control over what I end up doing in the day. When school starts this will be better because I won’t have as much of a choice haha.

This past holiday passed insanely quickly, and to be fair to myself I wasn’t playing mindlessly for the most part! I guess I was learning a lot about Medicine and slotted in as many things as possible, such that I didn’t feel the buildup to Christmas and all of a sudden it’s almost Chinese New Year?(x100) I feel quite unprepared for JC because I’ve been off educating myself on Medicine rather than BCMH haha but I guess I’m working towards a greater goal! And now that JC is starting I don’t want to forget all that I have learnt, because I know it will be all to easy to shift my focus to the content I need for the grades. AHH.

I have been trying to make the most of this week by starting some mindful habits and reading and exercising, which will hopefully stick even when things get busier! Ultimately I don’t want to become a sad lethargic study machine (though it is quite possible knowing myself)!

I think this year’s church theme of the Year of Sabbath is a very timely reminder for me to always find rest. That no matter how much I strive to accomplish, God guides my path and He has the ultimate control. It’s always about finding the perfect spot between doing my best and letting God do the rest. The past week’s sermon was also exceptionally refreshing for me in my plan for this year! Our youth theme is #unshakable. We live in a very noisy world where the outside pressures influence us to think we need to achieve more, earn more, be accepted and that we will never be enough. Our pastor put this very cleverly: we think to ourselves “I am not perfect”, but the thing is, God never asked us to be perfect! God made us according to His plan for our life and whatever we need, He is sure to provide. Rather than looking to the world, or even within ourselves to find an identity and a purpose, we need to find our identity in Christ alone. “Don’t build your life on the external, so that regardless of the external, you will never be shaken.” How true is that!! With God as our cornerstone, I daresay we become invincible.

It definitely isn’t a conscious choice most times to tie our self worth to our achievements and social acceptance, and it is difficult to break away from it as well. For me, knowing that God is always there for me to seek shelter is all that I need. That no matter how unworthy I feel, my heavenly Father thinks 100% otherwise! Hopefully I will cling on to this truth through this year and make it out not just alive, but as more than a conqueror.

The Bible always puts it best:

14 For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. 15 The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship.f And by him we cry, “Abba,g Father.” 16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

More Than Conquerors

31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? 32 He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? 33 Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. 34W ho then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”j

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,k neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

  1. I am NOT a slave to fear
  2. Whoever God calls, He will glorify
  3. Nothing can separate me from the love of God
  4. I am more than a conqueror 🙂

It is so tempting to compare myself to others, to want the opportunities they have, to do what they are doing, and this all stems from my intense Fear Of Missing Out … As I wrote in my Bible Journal this morning, I just need to remember that when I seek God first, I have all I ever need. He will open and close doors in accordance with His plan, and if I spend on day dwelling on what someone else has that I don’t, I’m going to miss out on my own grand opportunities!

This is all easy to think when times are still good, but at the end of the day, the ultimate test is whether I uphold this when I’m at the bottom of the pit. For this, I’ll just have to wait and see, but I trust 100% that God will constantly renew me and will draw ever closer to me if only I am willing to draw closer to Him.

img_9916

All our hopes for 2017! ❤

Leave a Reply

