Graduation

The fact that graduation is so near didn’t really sink in till I watched the video our juniors put together for us. Our mass dance song that played in the background also brought back many fond memories, where my journey in house first started! While reading a friend’s post and looking at all the photos online, I decided to look back on my four years in RG too, and found myself smiling at many things I did that I had already forgotten about. I extracted over a hundred photos – over a hundred things that made me glad I came to RG and didn’t run away when tough seasons rolled around. There’s no doubt that the school environment is stressful, but I also believe that this is what works best for me and makes me want to push myself further. Perhaps I have pushed myself too hard sometimes, but to be very honest the results never disappoint HAHaha and it’s all worth it in the end!! My friend was telling me how many people in our class push themselves too far, but that because we know God, we know when it’s time to stop and let God do the rest. I think that is very true! Especially for this year, I feel that while I have never stopped trying my best, I also find peace and assurance in the knowledge that God is always working behind the scenes and that I really have nothing to fear if what I’m doing is in God’s plan for me.

One very strong testimony I have of how God has worked in my life would be meeting Julia! (Hi Ju if you are reading this!) In Y1 I really really (X1ooo) hated CCA because it was an environment where I felt I was constantly being judged and deemed as inadequate due to my lack of experience in dance. I couldn’t wait to quit at the end of the year and definitely did NOT see myself staying in the CCA for all four years! But along the way, I met Julia and noticed how despite everything that was going on around her, she managed to stay positive and spread joy to all those around her. As I got closer to her, she also invited me to church. And that began a transformation in my life. She has always been a role model for me in her walk with God, like how she had a prayer group when she was Y4 and now I have one of my own! ❤ All the adversities I faced drew me closer to Jesus and throughout my four years, He has really blessed me with so so many sisters in Christ that I know I can always count on.

Being in RG also revealed to me that I am largely an introvert. I do enjoy the company of friends, but really only those that I am very close to and can have comfortable conversations with. I read somewhere that friends are people you can share comfortable silences with, and I think that is somewhat true. Given a choice, I would rather sit alone than be with a large crowd haha. Being seen alone used to be something I feared, but after a while I grew to appreciate these quiet times and not care so much about what other people think.

Can’t have a post about RG without HOUSE! Okay some confessions now: #1 never really thought much about house in y1 (/don’t really remember what I did in house pracs because unlike some batch mates I wasn’t the type to fangirl seniors) and #2 as a student leader trainee, I wanted to join psb. HAHA but even so when I was allocated house, I still tried my best of course! Dramafest was a turning point because the dedication of the seniors rubbed off on me, and I guess I was just very focused on doing my job well, but the kind seniors really took the effort to affirm my efforts and made me feel like perhaps this is where I belong! I also never imagined I would ever become house capt because my fellow house commers were so much more suited for the role and outspoken and passionate and enthusiastic and basically all the things I thought a house capt needed to be. But the seniors really took the time to make sure I knew that I was equally capable, and encouraged me to give it a shot, and for that I will be eternally grateful! Their actions and words showed me the importance of investing your time in growing others as leaders in their own ways, and how words of encouragement and affirmation can do so much in giving someone a boost of confidence! As house capt I was also one of the less outspoken ones, but that didn’t hinder my learning experience in any way, because I still gave every single house event my best shot and truly cared (and still care!) for my house!

Campaigning for house capt is arguably one of the hardest things I have ever done in my entire life, but that was just the beginning of the hard work in house. I am super thankful for an extremely capable EXCO and house comm that helped me in planning and executing all the events and initiatives. I always had ideas that I didn’t know if others thought were dumb, but ah well we went ahead anyway and I just hope they made some Richardsonian out there love house a bit more!! Like our encouragement board during the exam season ❤ In a way, that’s how I paired my desire to care for the student body (why I wanted to join PSB) with my work in house. I told myself that any student leader’s role is to serve and care for her peers, and being in house simply gave me a fifth of the school to care deeply for! One of my favourite memories will be Sportfest this year. We tried SO hard for it – we filmed a video to talk to our house about how much it would mean to us if they played the games, we painted a brand new banner, we held a cheer refresher with tons of food etc etc and just were all very emotionally invested in it. Losing sportsfest really really shattered my heart, but all the Richardsonians that came up to me to hug and comfort me after that just put my heart back together and made sure it would never fall apart again. We won the sportsfest challenge – which showed that our house had really done very well in participation, and it wasn’t just the runners who were trying hard for Richardson. This leadership experience, while daunting at times, was extremely rewarding and really unlike any other. It taught me to fight hard for what I loved and taught me to appreciate those fighting alongside me.

I hope I have covered everything by now – God, house, dance – I think that’s pretty much it HAHA and I’m not gonna proof read everything again so I hope I didn’t ramble too much up there.

Time for photos!! I limited myself to around 20 photos of memories and people that mean a lot to me, but that’s only because I’m watching my wordpress post storage haha otherwise I would easily have posted over 100 photos!

1044610_10201583996384870_494660581_n

When we filmed our Raffles song video for an inter-house game and came in second! Very fond memories of this ❤

1957911_955170511176893_4303822397133729470_o

113/213 class party!

img_9563

2nd dramafest but the one I remember most! Such talented seniors and dedicated crew – if only they had the creative props and sets awards last year hmpf.

img_0739

Banner painting will always be one of my favourite Rg activities!

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Nincompoops annual secret santa exchange! My secret santa even has a facebook account that gets passed down each year to my new secret santa – how cool is that.

img_0871

YFC! Met so many hardworking souls through YFC and I’m very very proud of how far we came and how much we raised for SCS! This was one of the bumpier journeys I guess but also one of the most meaningful!

img_2966

March house camp on my birthday! My lovely EXCO ❤ ❤ no words.

img_2974

Comettos (missing Jing!!) I love it when I see yall around school hahaha except KE because I only need to turn around to see your face.

img_0001

Don’t remember when this was… but nice HAHA we should do this again batchies!

img_4099

My best prac countdown buddy! And science lab buddy! Thank you soph for always telling me about your life, I really do enjoy all our conversations ❤

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Shu the most loving and lovable person around, a true blessing to all!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Tree dance dancers for dance concert! Seniors I used to fear in Y1 but who came back to choreograph a dance for us ❤

img_4444

The time we were “rushing back” from RI after taking a pit stop for snacks, and then being so afraid of getting scolded but our fellow Y4s that we banned everyone from answering their phones HAHAHHAHA sorry batchmates.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Whenever we take photos we take this exact same mirror selfie.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Going to support the cheerleaders at their night pracs! Cheerleaders are legit so amazing they work so hard for their houses and dance so well I think every one of them deserves an award.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Painting our sportsfest banner at Yizhen’s house where Xiang painted the wall…. and we had some of the best shanghainese food around, and understood where Yizhen got all her funny genes from!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Cozifam – the wildest most dedicated people around,

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Shakespeare in the park with the RALit class that is too smart for me!!!

img_6018

407 is constantly feasting… our class either smells like KFC, pizza, or both. (in this picture it was mcdonalds hotcakes though hahaha)

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Finally wore a yakata to school! J and I embracing the only Jap bits of us here.

img_5574

RACH!! Doesn’t matter how rarely or often I see her because this friendship is one to keep for a long long time and I’m so grateful for her ❤

img_6607

Lastly – possibly my favourite photo of the last four years hahahaha some of my favourite people and the emblem of all their hard work!

As a p6 5 years ago, I screenshotted the acceptance email to RG, posted in on my insta and said “BEST DAY OF MY LIFE!” and I guess that set the stage for the most remarkable journey thus far 🙂 I still don’t see myself as sixteen and any bit mature; I feel I am still very much ignorant and needy haha. But for the chance to study in RG, meet all these great people and be blessed with all the opportunities the school has cast our way, I am so thankful! Ending in the classic RG way,

Filiae Melioris Aevi

Leave a Reply

