House CHAMPS! :’)

Since I’m waiting for my blueberry muffins to burst out of their tin (I didn’t realise the power of 2 teaspoons of baking powder…) I shall blog!

I’ve been meaning to blog since Monday but I put it off because of Jap prelims this week. Now that that’s done and dusted (お疲れ様でした!), I think a blog post is in order 🙂

On Monday, RICHARDSON WON OVERALL CHAMPS!!!

It was really such a dream – I was just mentally preparing myself to be okay with 2nd for everything because I didn’t actually think we had done that badly, just not good enough to actually get champs. It was so insane because our teacher was pulling out coloured slips from an envelope and since we were standing behind her, we found out before the school found out. Before that, we also found out we got 2nd for Swimcarn, 1st for IHG week, and 2nd for Most Participative! We were celebrating each small award but since we’d found out before hand for the first two we weren’t super duper over the top at that time.

BUT when she announced the third and second placings for Best Overall House, and IT WASN’T US, I started hoping. And then I saw the unmistakable flash of blue in the last envelope left (sorry drama but it really felt like SUCH a drama), I just died. And Ash died too.

I was honestly quite apprehensive still because what if they made a mistake in the calculations omg. But it’s been a week and there have been no revisions so I’m taking the results as final :”D

The award itself shouldn’t matter as much because ultimately I know how much effort I have put into House, and it doesn’t take an award to validate my work, or my House Comm’s work, or my House’s effort. The only thing I hope this trophy will do is inspire.

When Ashley and I first stepped up as Captains, we were (in all honesty) not that inspired. We felt like a lot more could be done to improve our House’s house spirit and that House Comm could be pushed a lot further. As Captains, we balanced each other out and filled in for one another. We knew we were being pulled in all directions, but never once did we do less for House because of other commitments. We’ve made so many last ditch attempts and our EXCO has grown so. incredibly. much. so at the end of the day we are just really proud of everybody :”)

We still see a lot of room for improvement in the next EXCO and next year’s House Comm, so I hope this trophy reminds them of what they can achieve if they really give it their all. They don’t have to win next year to make me proud, they just need to keep pushing our House further and further till every member knows what it feels like to love and fight for House. I first truly fell in love with House through DramaFest, because DF is a intense commitment that puts you with your House mates every day for a few consecutive weeks. At the end of it, you love all the actors and the stagehands, and the Y4s bond with Y3s and Y2s and Y1s, and it’s such an incredible warm environment that you never want to leave. Same with banner painting and Sportfest, and every other House event that I’ve had the privilege of experiencing as a House Comm member.

I hope every Richardsonian felt inexplicable pride when our House’s name was read out, and I hope that translates into inspiration and a desire to keep fighting for our House. It’s really not as though House events are very frequent anyway, just the occasional IHG and Swimcarn and Dramafest etc.! It’s so so easy to just sign up and play a small part in House and allow your RG life to be more than just studying.

I’ve come way further than I ever thought I would in RG. In Y1 I was confused. In Y2 I wanted to be in PSB because I felt caring for people was what I did best. Then I got sorted into House and I was like okay no worries I can do this too! Then Y3 came and I was running for Captain when I really thought I had no chance of getting it. And then last Monday came and we won. Basically, it’s been QUITE a ride, but one that has no doubt shaped my RG life and that I am very very lucky to have had.

38 weeks ago, I bookmarked Romans 12:4-8. It was the inspiration for my Captaincy campaign.

For as we have many members in one body, but all the members do not have the same function, so we, being many, are one body in Christ, and individually members of one another. Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching; he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.

I took it as an analogy for all the roles Richardsonians could play – they simply have to use their own gifts to contribute to our House.

Beyond that, I thank God for the gifts he has bestowed upon me. I may not have been the perfect leader (oh g my hand shook so. much. while reading my speech) but God has carried me through regardless.

Whoever he calls, he truly does glorify.

FullSizeRenderIMG_6591IMG_6607

2 thoughts on “House CHAMPS! :’)

  1. aaaaah I’M STILL SO HAPPY :”””) really REALLY couldn’t ask for better richard capts yall have inspired so many more richardsonians than you think you have ok i can FEEL it HAHA yall are so so amazing ❤ really going to miss the cosiness of our house next year D-:

Leave a Reply

