“Browncakes”

I am a very impulsive and poor planner when it comes to baking, which is why I found myself red-food-colouring-less and poorly equipped to make red velvet cupcakes, and later, 3 eggs short, halfway into making these brownies.

IMG_6183I made such drastic adjustments to my reference recipes that I think I can safely call this my own recipe. And it turned out fine! It’s not as fudgy as a normal brownie but it’s sufficiently chocolatey, so I’m calling it a brownie cake. When I do make these again I think I will add more dark chocolate (because it could be a little more fudgy!) and less sugar, though this was already less than half of what the original recipe called for. I love experimenting with baking hehe.

Makes approximately 14 brownie squares

Ingredients:

  • 100g dark chocolate
  • 200g butter
  • 1 egg
  • 100ml milk
  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2tsp cocoa powder
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Melt chocolate and butter in a bain marie.
  • In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.
  • Whisk in egg and milk.
  • Fold in chocolate and butter.
  • Bake at 180c for 25 minutes.

Note: this brownie will puff in the centre! I baked mine in a mini loaves pan, so each rectangle puffed quite a bit.

IMG_6192

Leave a Reply

