Christmas 2014

Still struggling to come to terms with the fact that I’ll be going back to school in 5 days 😦 The holidays really flew by! I really enjoyed these two months though hehe I had a lot of time to stay at home and craft and bake and watch Youtube videos! I’m also really thankful that I got to spend my Friday nights and Sunday mornings with Chlolo+, my amazing cell! I will miss going to cell for the next few months till another holiday rolls around 😦

IMG_0637On Christmas Day after Julia’s and Ryan’s baptism! (Pastor Mavis’ jumpshot level 10000)

IMG_0835Christmas tree at home woohoo. Some of the stuff I got this year are a flannel (which I picked for myself lol), Rilakkuma cookie cutters!!!!, four ramekins of different sizes, a watch and 1989 (I have been listening to this every day it’s amazing I love all the songs!!) hehe.

IMG_0855Got this Rilakkuma pouch in my stocking, in this white wrapper with a message from santa!!! Hohoho me!!!

IMG_0859We had a third of this giant turkey for dinner and shall eat the leftovers for the next week or more hahaha.

IMG_0887Yesterday I finally visited the flower dome in Gardens by the Bay! I’ve never been too interested to be honest but the Christmas Wonderland theme seemed pretty cool.

I thought this was such a pretty idea! They had so many of these lights/birds things around 🙂

IMG_3640I really like this picture hahaha.

IMG_3660They had miniature houses and miniature snowmen and fake snow too.

IMG_3669Poinsettias were so pretty. They also had white and yellow ones!

IMG_3670

IMG_3705

IMG_3730It was a little cold inside but a winter coat is really unnecessary hahahaha.

IMG_3739It started raining at night so we couldn’t explore more of the light structures, but here are two photographs taken from under the sheltered walkway! My iPhone camera proved to be a better choice for taking these than my digital camera x)

IMG_0914

IMG_0919Today I used the leftover turkey and made some turkey potpies! Notice the four different sizes of ramekins HAHA. I also used my lovely Rilakkuma cookie cutter to decorate 🙂 I’m really pleased with how these turned out!

FullSizeRenderI also made some in a regular muffin tin 🙂

IMG_0962I think 2014 has been a great year, and it was made better when I started going to Bethel hehe 🙂 Today was my last service for 2014 and it really got me thinking about whether I’m leading a meaningful life. It was centred around the title “What would they say?”, referring to what friends and family would say about you at your funeral (morbid, but give it a thought.) To sum it up, it was a lot about leaving an impact and making the most out of all the opportunities God places in our lives because we are His masterpiece! The guest speaker shared this poem with us and I hope it guides the way for me in 2015 and for eternity 🙂

​The Dash
by Linda Ellis copyright 1996

​I read of a man who stood to speak
at the funeral of a friend.
He referred to the dates on the tombstone
from the beginning…to the end.

He noted that first came the date of birth
and spoke the following date with tears,
but he said what mattered most of all
was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time
that they spent alive on earth.
And now only those who loved them
know what that little line is worth.

For it matters not, how much we own,
the cars…the house…the cash.
What matters is how we live and love
and how we spend our dash.

So, think about this long and hard.
Are there things you’d like to change?
For you never know how much time is left
that can still be rearranged.

If we could just slow down enough
to consider what’s true and real
and always try to understand
​the way other people feel.

And be less quick to anger
and show appreciation more
and love the people in our lives
like we’ve never loved before. 

If we treat each other with respect
and more often wear a smile,
remembering that this special dash
might only last a little while.

​So, when your eulogy is being read,
with your life’s actions to rehash…
would you be proud of the things they say
about how you spent YOUR dash?

Happy new year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

