Blueberry Blondies

Blondies are like brownies – the same texture but a different colour. You can add almost anything into blondies because they are just vanilla-flavoured. I chose to add blueberries, white chocolate and macadamias. I don’t actually like blueberries by themselves haha but when baked in cakes they are pretty little purplish blue explosions so I thought I’d just add them in. Healthy anyway! White chocolate gave it the sweet chocolate taste without ruining my white and purple colour scheme haha. The macadamias were yum but can be substituted with walnuts or hazelnuts in my opinion because they are significantly more expensive.

20141013_072752

I first found out about blondies on Pinterest. It’s one of my favourite sites now! I really love the creative ideas on Pinterest plus the pictures are so pretty ❤ I got my recipe for the blondies here: Scrummy Lane

20141011_092447Baking in progress hehe vv messy but here are my main ingredients!

20141011_101013I was initially quite confused about the texture of my blondie because I baked it for longer than it stated on Scrummy Lane’s recipe, but the inside was still moist and seemed undercooked! I cut through it halfway and cooked it for 20 more minutes but it still remained moist. Then I realised that blondies, like brownies, tasted best when a little fudgy!

20141013_072835See the moisture? It’s not meant to be a dry cake 🙂

Anyway here’s a modified version of the recipe!

Blueberry Blondies

Ingredients

  • 110 grams butter
  • 1/2 cup castor sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 60 grams white chocolate
  • 10 macadamia nuts

Recipe

  1. Line a 9×5 inch pan (or any pan that will give the blondie at least 2 1/2 inches height) and preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Melt butter and whisk into sugar.
  3. Whisk in the egg and vanilla essence.
  4. Sift in flour and baking powder, add salt and fold in.
  5. Fold in blueberries, chopped chocolate and nuts.
  6. Pour into baking pan and bake for 30 minutes.
One thought on “Blueberry Blondies

Leave a Reply

