SEA Aquarium

Hey there πŸ™‚ Haven’t blogged in a long time because I’ve been so busy! Sick at home (again) today so I shall blog about my visit to SEA Aquarium on Sunday. In 2012, there was an article in the newspapers about a dolphin’s death while being transported from the Philippines to the SEA Aquarium. I was really upset about that and hence never went to visit or find out more about the aquarium. The reason I finally went on Sunday was because my Dad’s company was having a Family Day outing there (and Adventure Cove). (But visiting = supporting, so I’m really sorry dolphins and all the others there!)

ImageBefore you enter the aquarium, there’s a mini exhibition upstairs about the culture of other countries! It showcases some food, traditional games and other things like drums and animal-shaped coins πŸ™‚

ImageThis was the first stop in the aquarium – a “shipwreck” scene with many different schools of fish and some stingrays!

ImageEntrance to the next stop! This tunnel walkway reminded me of Underwater World!

ImageHere are four (I think!) horseshoe crabs πŸ™‚ I didn’t know what they were at first till this smart little boy said they were horseshoe crabs heheh. I’m not sure why they are attached to each other! I was wondering if they were one entire horseshoe crab, but then Mom pointed out that there were two tails so maybe they were mating :/

ImageThis was a really fascinating display! (Open the image in a new tab/window to enlarge it and read the text.) Those are shark eggs and they are translucent so you can see the stuff inside (*_*) The stuff wriggles and it was so cool so I took a video! Sadly, I can’t embed it in this post 😦

ImageThis is a giant tank with lots of small colourful fish and lots of corals! I have a video of the fish swimming in this tank but I can’t seem to upload it here unless I upload it on YouTube first D: The corals were really pretty ^_^

ImageThis exhibit was modelled after a mangrove habitat, but I think it was a little too small for the number of fish there πŸ˜₯

ImageGiant octopus! (I spelt this as “octupus” until autocorrect saved me hahaha.) The sign next to this tank featured an octopus and starfish so I was searching for the octopus but all I saw were the starfish. Then after a while my Dad realised it was sleeping in a corner .-.

ImageJellyfish! They looked really cool and fluorescent in their dark tanks and the light in the tanks changed colours so they appeared green one moment and pink the next! πŸ™‚ The way they move and how their “tails” trail behind them is really fascinating!

ImageThe Open Ocean experience! This great big tank had the full range of creatures – from small fish to big sting rays! This place was kind of like an auditorium with steps that you could sit on and watch the fish swim around. There were also people acting and filming a scene here! They were Chinese but with an American accent (*_*) Wonder who they were!!

ImageThis is a giant manta ray! While I was at the aquarium I didn’t know the difference between a sting ray and a manta ray, but I just googled it and one big difference is that if a sting ray stings you, you’ll die, but if a manta ray does, you won’t! They also kinda look different, based on the picture above, the manta ray has two protruding things from its head. What’s interesting is the few manta rays in this Open Ocean display had a fish swimming underneath them all the time :O I searched the internet for a while but couldn’t find out why 😦 It’s still really cool though! The smaller manta ray had a smaller fish underneath and the bigger manta ray had a bigger fish underneath hehehe.

Image

I still have many other pictures of fish close-up and stuff but I shan’t post them because then it would be a really long list of pictures and not enough words! All in all, the aquarium was a really cool place to visit and it’s educational too because there were interactive screens placed near the tanks for you to identify and find out more about the marine life! It was a truly unique experience πŸ™‚

I am currently doing a Geography project on the implications of a sea level rise of 66 metres (because that’s how much it would rise if ALL the ice melted) and one implication would be the loss of coral reefs. They need to be near to the surface so they can have enough sunlight and obviously 66 metres is not near at all! It was really sad to have to research about this after seeing all the beautiful corals and the fish that lived among them! So even though I still feel sad for the fish who are deprived of a free life in the deep blue sea, at least the corals will be protected from the rising sea levels for as long as Singapore can remain dry (only Bukit Timah Hill will be left if the sea level rises to 66 metres).

My class will be visiting Malacca under my school’s RICE programme (every Year 2 class gets to visit a country somewhere in the region) and according to the information boards in the aquarium, the Straits of Malacca also has many diverse ecosystems ranging from coral reefs to seagrass beds, so it would be cool if we went to take a look at them! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

