Hong Kong Disneyland

ImageMickey Mouse incorporated into every bit of the train!

ImageImageOur visit to Disneyland was rather last-minute (we only decided to go the day before!) but nonetheless very enjoyable! Yq and I loved the Disneyland atmosphere – especially since Christmas is just around the corner and they had Christmas songs and limited edition merchandise πŸ™‚

Image

ImageWe arrived rather early at approximately 9.15, because we set out early from the hotel. The park was only supposed to open at 10 according to the website, so it was a pleasant surprise when the gates opened at 9.30! Then we found out that only Main Street USA would be open for that half hour and the rides would open at 10. So we waited around for another half hour, and when the clock struck 10, we RAN to the Space Mountain ride in Tomorrow Land hahaha! Had to be the first in line. But we weren’t >.<

Image

ImageThe inside of Space Mountain! It was an indoor roller coaster which didn’t have any sudden steep drops. There were many twists though and it was quite dark during the ride so it was still fun πŸ™‚ We took this ride twice because there was hardly a queue!

ImageThen we got ourselves some popcorn πŸ™‚ They sold ice-cream and popsicles there too, but we didn’t get any. I took this picture because I want to try making the Mickey-shaped ice-creams from polymer clay teehee πŸ˜€

ImageOur Mickey-shaped popcorn bucket! We got this because 1. cute 2. we could close it and not have to worry about the popcorn flying out during rides. However, the lid wasn’t very tight and opened up easily, which led to me spilling some popcorn in the toilet while trying to hook it >.< Bad Mickey.

ImageIt’s a small world! The most relaxing ride there πŸ™‚ It is a boat trip down an indoor man-made “river” with cute dolls of people from all around the world! It showcases different cultural aspects such as dances and rituals.

ImageSquare trees outside!

Image

ImageThen, we went on another relaxing ride – a Winnie the Pooh adventure! We sat in a Honey Pot carriage thingamajig hahaha it’s such a cute idea! So the Honey Pot just goes around and we find out more about how Pooh bear or Pooh-san (as I now like to call him hahaha I learnt it from the Japanese!) lost his Honey Pot in a storm but later found it again. πŸ˜€

ImageHooray bc he found his honey x)

ImageThis way to Toy Story! Again, love the idea of the bench made out of giant popsicle sticks!

ImageIn Toy Story land, I took the s c a r i e s t ride in HK Disneyland by myself! Because Yq took it before in another Disneyland and said once was enough humf.

ImageIt’s called RC Racer and is basically a giant horseshoe! So you go from one end to another, much like a viking ship ride but much much scarier! It’s like going up at 90 degrees then literally falling down (like your seat falls before you and you fall back onto the seat!). And then repeating that soon after on the other side! It’s sooooo fun even though it’s scary! Only went on it once though 😦

ImageThis ride doesn’t look as scary as it actually is (which isn’t very scary actually). Basically you start here (^)

ImageAnd then you go here. And you just go up and down and up and down hahaha. The queue was really long though! Longer than the RC Racer which was so much more fun in my opinion! The RC Racer had no queue actually. I went on the first one once I walked in because I was a single rider ^_^

Image

This was the funnest ride! Yq says it’s like Thunder Mountain in the other Disneylands, but this one is even better because there was a backward part that was totally unexpected!

ImageIt goes up this little cliff, stops and then goes backwards really quickly! Then it stops in a cave with two grizzly bears and there’s some TNT in there which explodes, so we go off again at lightning speed πŸ˜€ It was sooo fun. And it was even better because there was a Chinese mum and her little daughter in front of us, and the mum was super duper scared and just hollering “受不了啦!” (I can’t stand it!) and many other things hahahaha so I just laughed throughout the ride x) And her daughter was so annoyed at her mum, she kept turning around and looking at Yq and I because we kept laughing hahaha. After that round we decided to queue again, but the queue was so much longer! But oh well it was worth it πŸ˜€

After the ride, we wanted to go back to Main Street USA but we realised it was time for the parade!

ImagePooh-san’s float! I really love the honey pots haha πŸ™‚

ImageDisney princesses – Snow White, Aurora (my childhood favourite although I’m not sure why haha maybe because her dress is pink), Belle and Cinderella.

ImageThen I realised they were doing a dance of sorts hahaha.

ImageThe Stitch float was really cool because the platform swings about!

ImageThe dancers with their colourful costumes πŸ™‚

ImageFinally got our turkey leg!

ImageAnd I decided to get a Churro πŸ˜€ I’ve been wanting to eat a Churro since the last time I tried one in London! They sold them in the park if I’m not wrong and they were so good omg. They were slightly different from the one in Disneyland though. The one in London was sold in a pack of 5 or 6 mini sticks (like shorter than the one I’m holding in this picture) and it came with fudge! So good πŸ˜€ I prefer those but it’s okay! This one was coated in sugar! I tried to make Churros

before at home, because I bought a Churros mould from Daiso, but they turned out different because I baked them instead of frying them πŸ™‚ They weren’t as crispy and tasted more like a buttery cross between a bun and a biscuit. It was still good though! :ImageNext, we watched the Mickey 4D show (the brochure said 3D, but it had water and air effects :D). It started with just Mickey, Minnie, Donald Duck and an orchestra but they gradually incorporated many other Disney characters! Basically the story was about how Donald Duck lost his hat and journeyed to many different lands in an attempt to retrieve it. He went to places such as the castle that Belle lives in, swam around in Ariel’s grotto and flew on a magic carpet alongside Princess Jasmine πŸ™‚ It was supposed to be a musical of sorts because of the orchestra, so it was like a medley with all the different Disney songs πŸ˜€ (There was also Lion King!)ImageThe people outside waiting to go into the auditorium. There were many little kids there and it was so amusing and cute to watch them reach out and try to grab the things flying around because of the 3D glasses! It was also quite interesting because the Disneyland crew calls the 3D glasses opera glasses… x)

ImageWe didn’t have much we wanted to do anymore so we started walking out 😦

ImageI thoroughly enjoyed my day at Disneyland, the happiest place on earth! And I really want to visit the one in Japan again because the last time I went there was when I was 5 or 6 (I think) and the only thing I remember was chickening out of a Disneysea ride. 😦 Not the best memory! I would also like to go to Disneyworld in USA πŸ˜€ Hehe but right now I’m just really contented that I got to go to Disneyland on this trip because I wasn’t expecting it at all! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

